Introducing AWRN’s New Extraordinary Intern, Shaina Boe!


Hi, I’m Shaina Boe, a recent recruit to the Alabama Women’s Resource Network. As summer intern, I am excited to take a proactive role in assisting the AWRN mission to prevent incarceration and advocate women’s rights.

Since women form the family foundation in their communities, helping women empower themselves and guaranteeing their basic rights are a fundamental causes key to strengthening communities both in Alabama and the rest of the world. Working with AWRN and associate women’s advocacy groups in Alabama will provide me with unique experiences to pair with the dual degree I am working toward completing at UAB in International Studies and Spanish. In exchange for the opportunity to work with AWRN, I seek to offer practical and positive propositions to current issues facing Alabama women.

As a newcomer to Birmingham in 2007, I was allured by the promise of extending my athletic career in Synchronized Swimming at the collegiate level while pursuing a my degree. As a long-time member on a team of female athletes, I greatly value the mentorships and interpersonal relationships developed between women because they help women build self confidence through social support networks. Women need positive support networks now more than ever to help them become informed, assertive individuals, and I believe that AWRN seeks to do just that and more. I am delighted to get started!

-Shaina Boe

Leave a Reply

