Not Your Traditional Summer Reads…


I admit that the books on my reading list have been light.  I don’t know exactly how a teen vampire love saga usurped all of my personal reading time, but now that it’s behind me, I am cracking open some more serious reads. 

New on my reading list:

Victoria Law’s Resistance Behind Bars: The Struggles of Incarcerated Women

Jeffrey Ian Ross and Stephen Richards’ Beyond Bars: Rejoining Society After Prison

I have been alternating between both.  I can say now, only a third of the way into Law’s Resistance, that you should just go ahead and make that purchase (used copies on Amazon start out around $12).  Also, Ross and Richards have a lot of experience to back the advice-filled pages of Beyond Bars and I have to say I am anxious to see how they cover issues facing women’s reentry.

And just an idea–if you purchase either of these books, please consider donating them to AWRN so that we may build our lending library for women in prison and their loved ones.

Check ’em out!

–AWRN Coordinator

Leave a Reply

